Spring in the city and a chocolate cake recipe

May 30, 2013 § 2 Comments

Five months ago I moved back to the city after 3 years in the country. Personal circumstances brought this change and at first it was thrilling to be back in Copenhagen. This is where I grew up and therefore a place I know well. I have all the shops close by and there are lovely cafés on almost every corner. But now that spring is here and summer is next I find that I miss being close to nature. Not connecting with nature every day, feeling it and looking at it, makes me feel alone and disconnected. So today I decided to go to the nearest park. Frederiksberg Have. It´s a beautiful place with lots of trees and flowers and a rich birdlife. Here are some pictures from my sunny day in the park. Scroll down if you want to skip directly to the chocolate cake recipe:-)

IMG_6888 IMG_6856

Frederiksberg Have

Frederiksberg Have

IMG_6867

IMG_6870

goose

And then I met this goose who left me these beautiful feathers.goose feathers

And last but certainly not least I went home and baked a fantastic gluten free chocolate cake. The perfect ending for my great day with nature. I got the recipe from this blog missfirelake. Her recipe is in danish so I will write it up in english just for you.

GLUTEN-FREE CHOCOLATE CAKE

140 g dark chocolate 60-70%

3 tbsp strong coffee

5 eggs

120 g sugar or honey

250 g swettened chestnut cream

2 dl hazelnuts or almonds

Whip the egg yolks with 80 g sugar till it gets light and creamy. Add the chopped hazelnuts and the chestnut cream. Melt the chocolate and coffee in a water bath and add it to the mixture. In another bowl whip the egg whites until they start stiffening then add 40 g sugar and continue whipping till stiff and shiny. Add the egg whites gently in the egg yolk mixture little by little. Pour mixture in a greased baking tray and bake for 40-45 minutes in a preheated oven of 180 degrees celcius. Very easy and absolutely fabulous. Enjoy!!

gluten free chocolate cake

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Spring in the city and a chocolate cake recipe

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring in the city and a chocolate cake recipe at Thinking out Loud.

meta

