Change is a good thing

August 4, 2013 § 2 Comments

I´ve always found change difficult. It scared me and sometimes still does. For some reason, even if the current situation was bad, changing it seemed worse. Because of that I´ve often let things escalate and not taken steps toward change before it was a matter of “life and death”. The “funny” thing is that at the same time, I wanted change so much it hurt. Something inside me knew that things were wrong or bad but my fear made sure I was unable to take the necessary steps to make a change. And when something finally happened and forced me to act, I was surprised at the positive outcome and it puzzled me that I could have been so afraid of something that was clearly so right.

dronningmølle beach

Years ago I had to change my diet for a while because of a health problem. I was told I couldn´t eat gluten, dairy products, sugar and only very little fruit. I was devastated. I had to make huge changes to all my meals. All the things I normally ate and loved were banned from this new diet. I cried and felt (I´m ashamed to admit) that it was the most horrible thing that ever happened to me. But my mum was optimistic and together we came up with new dishes, different from what I was used to but lovely and tasty none the less. The change of diet was temporary and after three months I could return to my former way of eating. And I was relieved and happy. But I learned a lot during that time, and I implemented many of these new recipes in my regular diet.

Again because of my health I recently learned that a gluten-free diet could help me. And again my immediate reaction was negative. I love baking and I felt deprived of that joy thinking about a step like that. But then I decided to change my approach and feel happy about doing something good for me and my health. I researched the internet and found lots of delicious recipes for gluten-free bread.

gluten-free buns

Today I baked these beauties and they´re fabulous both in texture and taste. The recipe is from upstairs atelier.

I feel very happy and optimistic about this change in my diet. My new mantra is – Change is a good thing:-)

gluten-free buns

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Change is a good thing

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Change is a good thing at Thinking out Loud.

meta

